Last two days, suddenly lots of people following my pillowfort that I don't actually use? Jumping ship from tumblr, I assume. Those of you actually using pillowfort, what do you think of it?
As a technical platform I think it has potential, combining Tumblr's reblog feature with the commenting field of DW. I haven't worked out communities yet, but so far I'm not impressed with it. The site itself is lagging a lot because of the extra (and unexpected) traffic it's got during December.
They have some problems with their TOS, which I think might be the main issue for me at the moment, but that -- like the lagging and the communities -- might shape up in the future.
yeah, pretty much all this. I'm unthrilled with how they handled the TOS dust up, but the lagging and glitching are an even bigger obstacle for me.
the other problem is there's no *content* there. there's some fan art and conversation, but what I mainly love about tumblr is all the screen caps and gifsets going back to 2010. I just don't have faith that stuff will ever reappear on pillowfort.
I haven't got the hang of it yet, but from what I've seen I quite like it--it's nice to have images and to reblog content easily, for example. I'm definitely giving it the benefit of the doubt until they get their server issues sorted--not their fault that tumblr decided to blow itself up when it did, poor things, they're doing pretty well under the circs I reckon. I'm not sure exactly how communities and things work yet either, there, but that's ok, I'm happy to give it time!
There's a lot to like, once they can get the site stable. I hope they can clear up the TOS stuff. I like the reblog system but I can already see that at some point it's going to come to a head--there are currents forming in the post-Tumblr crowd that essentially boil down to "the OP has the right to control their content" vs "the people who consume the content have the right to control the content."
Also I am seeing that even with the way PF has tweaked it, the reblogging functionality makes things move a lot faster (potentially stressfully fast for me, once it starts getting up to speed), and also still has the ability to disperse content past boundaries where people don't necessarily want it to go, so that's got its pros and cons.
Over all, I like it but I'm already thinking it's not likely to be a platform I fall in love with. It's about 10000% better than Tumblr, though. I could live with it.
Thanks for the replies, guys. Lots to think about. I am hella impatient though, so it definitely has to run more smoothly/quickly for me to go play with it and see how it works.
no subject
Date: 2018-12-16 05:59 pm (UTC)They have some problems with their TOS, which I think might be the main issue for me at the moment, but that -- like the lagging and the communities -- might shape up in the future.
no subject
Date: 2018-12-16 07:26 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2018-12-17 04:02 pm (UTC)the other problem is there's no *content* there. there's some fan art and conversation, but what I mainly love about tumblr is all the screen caps and gifsets going back to 2010. I just don't have faith that stuff will ever reappear on pillowfort.
no subject
Date: 2018-12-16 08:28 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2018-12-16 09:03 pm (UTC)Also I am seeing that even with the way PF has tweaked it, the reblogging functionality makes things move a lot faster (potentially stressfully fast for me, once it starts getting up to speed), and also still has the ability to disperse content past boundaries where people don't necessarily want it to go, so that's got its pros and cons.
Over all, I like it but I'm already thinking it's not likely to be a platform I fall in love with. It's about 10000% better than Tumblr, though. I could live with it.
no subject
Date: 2018-12-16 09:22 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2018-12-18 07:40 pm (UTC)